+ Register
  • Main navigation
Login
Username:

Password:

Lost Password?

Register now!
Who's Online
23 user(s) are online (19 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 23

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

New to MAME .chd files
Just popping in
From Maryland
Group:
Registered-Users
Level : 1; EXP : 34
HP : 0 / 8
MP : 1 / 107
I am new to MAME and have been watching youtube videos, browsing forums...but i can't find out how these .chd files work and where to get them? Can anyone tell me about .chd files (in simple terms). Thanks in advance!

Posted on: 2010/4/4 4:49
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: New to MAME .chd files
Just popping in
Group:
Registered-Users
Level : 2; EXP : 38
HP : 0 / 34
MP : 4 / 440
chd's are 'Compressed Hunks of Data', or compressed hard drives. The first term is the real one, the second is more readily understandable. The reason it's Compressed Hunks of Data is that chd's incorporate hard drives, cd-roms and Laser Discs.

Lots of arcade games in the late 90's and beyond used much better graphics and audio than those of their earlier counterparts, and it became increasingly costly to make chips with larger and larger capacity, the simple solution: store the game on the hard drive.

So in order for MAME to emulate these newer games, a copy of the hard drive is required along with the BIOS of the games motherboard.

Some games in the mid 80's also used Laser Discs and some of those games are emulated as well. These Laser Discs run into about 13-15Gb each, so they're not small ! They are, however, filled with a fair amount of full motion video, so the games have a pretty decent story line.

You can get the chd files from the BDA (Bulk Download Area). You will need a copy of the BIOS as well, and those can be downloaded from the BDA also. Note: quite a few of the chd based games currently do not work in MAME, and many of those that do run at a virtual snails pace.

I hope that helps.